Element History
When you save an element, Senseforce automatically saves the changes you did to the history. This enables you to go back to any previous version of your element.
The following elements have a history:
  • Dashboards
  • Widgets
  • Datasets
  • Scripts
  • Virtual Events

Saving a new version

Saving a new version of your element happens behind the scenes. All you need to do is change your element and click on Save.
To make the history more comprehensible you can optionally add a version message to describe the changes that you made before hitting the Save button.
Whenever you change something in your element, a new input field should appear in the top bar where you can add your version message:
Adding a version message before saving a dataset

History of an element

You can view the history of an element in two different ways:
  • When you are in the edit view of any element, you can click on the button with the three dots in the top right corner and select Show History
  • When you are in the overview list of an element (e.g. the list of datasets) you can click on the button with the three dots next to the element of which you want to show the history. Then click on Show History.
You can only view the history of an element if you have Write permissions for this element.
Regardless of the way you've done it, the history should be shown in a new modal window:
History of an element
In this modal every version that exists for your selected element is displayed with the following information:
  • Version: The automatically generated version number. Each time you save your element a new version gets saved with the version number incremented by one. So in general, the lower the version number the older the version is.
  • Created: The time when this version has been created.
  • Created by: The user that created this version. If you have user management permissions, the user will be a link that will take you to the user edit page in the user management.
  • Message: Here you can see the version message that has been entered when this version has been created.
With the Go to version button next to every version in the list, you can navigate to any specific version of your element.
If you don't see a Go to version next to an entry in the history list, you currently have this exact version open.
If you go to an old version of an element and then save it, it becomes the newest version of your element.
Virtual Events use event schema attributes which do not have history records. This means the "newest" event schema attributes are always going to be used and therefor available for data mapping, in the data mapping page.